Day 1 of the Purge

What an ominous title! The more that I think about this social media purge, the more comfortable I am with it. This may, however, have to do with the fact that a lot of mental preparation went into planning the shutdown.

On Sunday evening, the Facebook feed was looking a little bleak. I requested my archive (so I wouldn’t lose my photos!) and downloaded the content. From there, I decided to go ahead and close down the account a couple days early. To be perfectly honest, it has only been a few days, but I don’t miss it yet, and I’m not sure that I really want to ever reactivate my account.

Instagram met the same fate as Facebook on Sunday night. My interest in it was dwindling, so that account will likely also not resurface at the end of Lent.

Twitter – oh, Twitter! This account I left open, mainly because Twitter will permanently delete your account after 30 days of deactivation. Lent is longer than 30 days, and I did not want to lose my username (@4n6woman). I did make a vow to not check my account throughout Lent, so it will be interesting to see what tweets and messages I get to come back to after Easter.

LinkedIn was left open and will be monitored (loosely) throughout Lent. This was never really used as a social media account, although it technically is, but is more used as a business networking account.

Pinterest is a tough one. Ultimately, this account was left open, but the app was deleted from my phone (to prevent mindless scrolling). There are great recipes and craft ideas on this site, and it tends to be more personal than social. So, this one stayed.

Day 1, Ash Wednesday, let’s see how this Lent season goes. I wish you all the best!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s